‘Lighthouse’ Event Showcases Best of the Best

September 18, 2007 – Columbus Technical College was well-represented at the annual Lighthouse conference last week in Augusta. Part of the Lighthouse Professional Development Conference for the Technical College System of Georgia is the naming of the Rick Perkins Teacher of the Year for the state. Columbus Technical College Nursing Instructor Lisa O’Steen competed with 34 other Rick Perkins winners from across Georgia. While she didn’t win, Lisa O’Steen served Columbus Technical College well and the school couldn’t be more proud.

September 13, 2007: Finalists for the Rick Perkins Award from Columbus Technical College pose with the Commissioner of the Technical College System of Georgia (center), Ron Jackson. Pictured left to right are: Instructors Jim Smith, Winner for Columbus Technical College Lisa O’Steen, Mr. Jackson, Frank Futyma and John Lipham.

More about the award: The Rick Perkins Award for Excellence in Technical Instruction honors technical education’s most outstanding instructors. The award has been an ongoing statewide event since 1991 and is designed to recognize and honor technical college instructors who make significant contributions to technical education through innovation and leadership in their fields. The recipient of this distinguished award is recognized as Georgia’s Technical College System’s Instructor of the Year. Formerly known as the Commissioner’s Award of Excellence, the Rick Perkins Award was renamed in memory and honor of Thomas “Rick” Perkins, an instructor at West Central Technical College, who received the Commissioner’s Award of Excellence prior to his untimely death.