CTC Named Finalist for College of the Year

The State Board of the Technical College System of Georgia announced Thursday that its members have chosen Savannah Technical College as their 2013 college of the year, presenting it with the “Perdue Award”. The board also recognized Augusta Technical College, Columbus Technical College, Gwinnett Technical College and Ogeechee Technical College with resolutions for being finalists for the award.

Each year, the TCSG State Board evaluates the state technical colleges for the Perdue Award using almost two dozen performance categories, including enrollment in technical and adult education programs, student retention and graduation rates, licensure pass rates, economic development measures, national awards, and administrative efficiencies.

President Lorette M. Hoover was thrilled to represent Columbus Technical College as one of the finalists.

“Columbus Technical College has worked tirelessly to provide a quality, career-ready education for people in the Greater Chattahoochee Valley,” Hoover said. “Besides the education itself, the college was also recognized for its fiscal responsibility. As a state entity, that is vital.”

CTC is Finalist for College of the Year

December 5, 2013: Columbus Technical College President Lorette M. Hoover shows off the recognition award naming CTC as a finalist for the 2013 TCSG College of the Year. Also pictured are TCSG Board Chair Dr. Lynn Cornett and Commissioner Ron Jackson.

TCSG Commissioner Ron Jackson said, “I want to congratulate President Hoover, her predecessor, President Emeritus Bob Jones, the faculty, staff, and students of Columbus Technical College on their well-deserved honor for being a finalist for the 2013 Perdue Award for the TCSG College of the Year. The members of the State Board of the TCSG have great respect for Columbus Tech and thank everyone at the college for their outstanding dedication to the success of their students.”

Dr. Lynn Cornett, chair of the TCSG board, presented Savannah Technical College President Kathy Love with the Perdue Award for the TCSG Technical College of the Year during the board’s monthly meeting in Atlanta.

The TCSG College of the Year Award is named in honor of former Governor Sonny Perdue.

Previous winners were Atlanta Technical College (2012), Ogeechee Technical College (2011) and Wiregrass Georgia Technical College (2010).