Learning to Drive
Learning to drive is a major milestone in life. It is important, and required by the State of Georgia for young and inexperienced drivers to learn the fundamentals of safe driving. As established by Joshua’s Law, teens wishing to receive a Georgia driver’s license must successfully complete a Georgia Department of Drivers Services (DDS) approved driver education program.
The Economic Development Department at Columbus Technical College provides a (DDS approved) Driver’s Education program. Students attending will receive 30-hours of classroom instruction and 6-hours of behind-the-wheel instruction. The program covers the fundamentals required to safely operate a motor vehicle on Georgia’s roadways, and meets the requirements established by Joshua’s Law. Upon successful completion, students will receive an official DDS certificate and registered in the Online Certification Reporting (OCRA) system.
To be eligible for participation, students must be 15-17 years old and have a valid Georgia Learner’s permit in order to register. The normal cost for this course is $350.
How To Register?
- For More Information and to see upcoming courses, visit our Driver's Ed Registration Page.
- Complete the registration packet (Columbus Technical College Drivers Education Packet).
Students may also call 706-649-1557 or Jamall Wimberly at 706-649-1838 with additional class registration questions/sign-up.