Articulation agreement prepares students for the workforce through a seamless transfer between the two schools.

With daily advances in healthcare and an increasing number of communities that cater to senior populations and those with disabilities, people are living longer while enjoying great quality of life.  Career opportunities are plentiful for those who want to help plan and manage senior living and long-term care for our nation’s aging population.  To meet this workforce need, Columbus Technical College has teamed up with Georgia Southwestern University in Americus to offer students a unique educational transfer opportunity.  Presidents of both institutions recently signed an articulation agreement kicking off the newly-created Long-Term Care Management academic program.

GSW President and CTC Interim President signing agreement
GSW President Dr. Neal Weaver and CTC Interim President Martha Ann Todd sign the Long-Term Care Management articulation agreement.

“Columbus Tech’s mission is to prepare students to meet the workforce needs with certificates, diplomas, associate degrees, and transfer opportunities to four-year programs.   This articulation agreement provides a transfer opportunity that meets a significant workforce needs, and it is a win-win for the students and the colleges,” said Martha Ann Todd, Interim President at CTC. 

To qualify for the new Long-Term Care Management Bachelor of Science program at GSW, Columbus Tech students must have successfully completed 60 hours of course credit, earning grades of “C” or better, in subject areas such as English, lab sciences, math, humanities, anatomy & physiology, human resource management, and more.  According to GSW’s website, this new interdisciplinary degree “prepares graduates to assist patients and families to connect with community resources, the transition from hospital to home, and manage the care of residents in an institutional setting.”

 “The articulation agreement with Columbus Technical College will provide a new healthcare career pathway for CTC students who will, after degree completion, be critical and essential employees for Georgia’s healthcare workforce,” said Dr. Leisa Easom, Associate Dean for Health Sciences at GSW.  “We are excited about the promising outcomes for these students and the future health of Georgians.”

Watch and/or listen to a video of the signing agreement.

About both schools:          Columbus Technical College was established in 1961 in Columbus, Ga., and is a two-year public unit of the Technical College System of Georgia.  Columbus Tech offers more than 100 academic program offerings in business, trade, health sciences, and general studies.  For more information on Columbus Technical College, visit

Georgia Southwestern State University, located in Americus, Ga., is a public, four-year unit of the University System of Georgia with approximately 3,000 students. Georgia Southwestern offers professional programs of study as well as degrees in the arts, humanities, sciences and graduate programs in business, computer science, education, English, and nursing.  For more information about Georgia Southwestern State University, visit